SOC 102 - Thomas
Note: To access the links on this page, make sure you are logged in using your 10 Digit NSHE Student ID Number and myCSN password. For additional assistance logging in, please call the Help Desk at 702-651-5555.
Urban blight refers to "the decay and deterioration of an urban area due to neglect or age." Some reasons may be "economic stagnation, population decline with residents and businesses leaving the area, a secular decline in real incomes, and the cost of maintaining the quality of older structures."
(Definitions from: "Urban decay." Collins Dictionary, 06 April 2021, https://www.collinsdictionary.com/us/dictionary/english/urban-blight. and "Economic Blight." Investopedia, 06 April 2021, https://www.investopedia.com/terms/e/economic-blight.asp.)
Urban Blight-Related Databases
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowAcademic journals, magazines, reports, books, and select newspapers on virtually any subject.
- Business Source Elite This link opens in a new windowSearch business journals, magazines and related business publications.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowIn-depth reports on current and controversial issues, with overviews, outlooks, background information, pros and cons, bibliographies and more.
- EBSCO Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch across more than 20 subject collections for a variety of sources including journal articles and books.
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowAccess to educational research reports along with information from nearly 1,000 education related journals.
- Issues and Controversies on File This link opens in a new windowObjective, in-depth information on the most prominent and hotly debated issues of the day with clear explanations of opposing points of view.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAn archive of scholarly articles from a variety of disciplines: business, health, literature, math, the sciences, and more.
- Las Vegas/Nevada News (Newsbank) This link opens in a new windowSearch articles from the Las Vegas Review Journal, Las Vegas Sun, Boulder City View and Henderson View.
- Proquest: News & Newspapers This link opens in a new windowMajor US newspapers including historical archives going back to 1851.
- Proquest: Social Sciences This link opens in a new windoweBooks, journals and trade publications related to the social sciences.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary collection of magazine, journal and newspaper articles.