Criminology - SOC 102 - Thomas - Library Guides at College of Southern Nevada

Criminology-Related Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic journals, magazines, reports, books, and select newspapers on virtually any subject.
Criminal Justice & Law Films (Films on Demand) This link opens in a new window
Videos related to criminal investigations, criminal justice system, criminology and legal studies.
Criminal Justice Periodicals This link opens in a new window
U.S. and international criminal justice journals, providing information on criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law and industrial security.
EBSCO Complete This link opens in a new window
Search across more than 20 subject collections for a variety of sources including journal articles and books.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of scholarly articles from a variety of disciplines: business, health, literature, math, the sciences, and more.

Now also includes access to Artstor's image database containing digitized works of art from most time periods and artistic endeavors including painting, sculpture, architecture and more.
Las Vegas/Nevada News (Newsbank) This link opens in a new window
Search articles from the Las Vegas Review Journal, Las Vegas Sun, Boulder City View and Henderson View.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Pro and con information on a variety of contemporary social issues along with articles from magazines, journals, newspapers and other sources.
Proquest: Social Sciences This link opens in a new window
eBooks, journals and trade publications related to the social sciences.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary collection of magazine, journal and newspaper articles.
ProQuest EBook Central This link opens in a new window
Full length books on a wide range of scholarly topics.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed scientific articles in psychology from the American Psychological Association (APA).
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed journals related to psychology, psychiatry and related behavioral sciences.
Psychology Films (Films on Demand) This link opens in a new window
Videos related to abnormal psychology, applied psychology, biological psychology, cognitive psychology, developmental psychology, gender & sexuality and social psychology.
A to Z: The World This link opens in a new window
Country guides covering a wide range of topics such as business culture, human rights, food, climate and religion.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Several decades of articles from over 1300 newspapers, including the Christian Science Monitor, the LA Times, the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, and the Washington Post.

Journals

Criminology is defined as the scientific study of crime, criminal behavior and law enforcement. Criminology studies crime, how society responds to crimes and how crime can be prevented. Criminology examines the psychological, hereditary and environmental causes of crime. It also examines the modes of criminal investigation and conviction. The study also analyses the effectiveness of punishment or correction methods as compared with forms of treatment or rehabilitation. In short it is the scientific study of the non-legal aspects of crime, including its causes and prevention. A very famous definition of criminology is as follows: "the study of the making of laws, the breaking of laws, and reactions to the breaking of laws."

(Definition taken from: "Criminal Law and Legal Definition." USLegal.com, 06 April 2021, https://definitions.uslegal.com/c/criminology/.)

Non-CSN Resources

Criminology Research Guide from the University of Pennsylvania
Includes many useful sources for criminology-related data and statistics including crime rates, corrections, and law enforcement