SOC 102 - Thomas
Note: To access the links on this page, make sure you are logged in using your 10 Digit NSHE Student ID Number and myCSN password. For additional assistance logging in, please call the Help Desk at 702-651-5555.
"Immigration, process through which individuals become permanent residents or citizens of another country. Historically, the process of immigration has been of great social, economic, and cultural benefit to states. The immigration experience is long and varied and has in many cases resulted in the development of multicultural societies; many modern states are characterized by a wide variety of cultures and ethnicities that have derived from previous periods of immigration."
(Definition from: "Immigration." Britannica, 06 April 2021, https://www.britannica.com/topic/immigration.)
Non-CSN Resources
- Brookings Institute: ImmigrationReports and blog posts related to immigration
- Center for Migration StudiesReports and datasets related to international migration and public policies
- Office of Immigration StatisticsData and information useful in evaluating the social, economic, environmental, and demographic impact of immigration laws collected for Congress and the general public
- Pew Research CenterDatasets and reports
Immigration-Related Databases
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowAcademic journals, magazines, reports, books, and select newspapers on virtually any subject.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowIn-depth reports on current and controversial issues, with overviews, outlooks, background information, pros and cons, bibliographies and more.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowEncyclopedias and specialized reference sources, with links to additional CSN Library databases and resources.
- EBSCO Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch across more than 20 subject collections for a variety of sources including journal articles and books.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new windowEncyclopedias and specialized reference sources covering a broad range of subjects and disciplines.
- Issues and Controversies on File This link opens in a new windowObjective, in-depth information on the most prominent and hotly debated issues of the day with clear explanations of opposing points of view.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAn archive of scholarly articles from a variety of disciplines: business, health, literature, math, the sciences, and more. Current issues of journals are not available in JSTOR.
- Las Vegas/Nevada News (Newsbank) This link opens in a new windowSearch articles from the Las Vegas Review Journal, Las Vegas Sun, Boulder City View and Henderson View.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowPro and con information on a variety of contemporary social issues along with articles from magazines, journals, newspapers and other sources.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary collection of magazine, journal and newspaper articles.