SOC 102 - Thomas
Note: To access the links on this page, make sure you are logged in using your 10 Digit NSHE Student ID Number and myCSN password. For additional assistance logging in, please call the Help Desk at 702-651-5555.
Policing refers to the actions taken by police "concerned primarily with maintenance of public order, safety, and health and enforcement of laws and possessing executive, judicial, and legislative powers."
(Definition adapted from "Police." Merriam-Webster.com, 06 April 2021, https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/police)
Data & Statistics
- Bureau of Justice StatisticsStatistics provided through the U.S. Department of Justice.
- National Archive of Criminal Justice DataNearly 3,000 datasets related to crime and justice provided by the National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) hosted by the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR).
Policing-Related Databases
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowAcademic journals, magazines, reports, books, and select newspapers on virtually any subject.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowIn-depth reports on current and controversial issues, with overviews, outlooks, background information, pros and cons, bibliographies and more.
- Criminal Justice Periodicals This link opens in a new windowU.S. and international criminal justice journals, providing information on criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law and industrial security.
- EBSCO Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch across more than 20 subject collections for a variety of sources including journal articles and books.
- ProQuest: Psychology Database This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and indexing for key psychology titles, many of which are available in full text and are indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology, and psychometrics.