SOC 102 - Thomas
Note: To access the links on this page, make sure you are logged in using your 10 Digit NSHE Student ID Number and myCSN password. For additional assistance logging in, please call the Help Desk at 702-651-5555.
Drug-Related Databases
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowAcademic journals, magazines, reports, books, and select newspapers on virtually any subject.
- CINAHL This link opens in a new windowSearch articles from top nursing and allied health journals, evidence-based care sheets and quick lessons. View Basic Search Tutorial.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowIn-depth reports on current and controversial issues, with overviews, outlooks, background information, pros and cons, bibliographies and more.
- EBSCO Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch across more than 20 subject collections for a variety of sources including journal articles and books.
- Issues and Controversies on File This link opens in a new windowObjective, in-depth information on the most prominent and hotly debated issues of the day with clear explanations of opposing points of view.
- JAMA: Journal of the American Medical Association (1998-present) This link opens in a new windowPublished continuously since 1883, JAMA is one of the most widely circulated peer-reviewed medical journals in the world. Access articles published as far back as 1998.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAn archive of scholarly articles from a variety of disciplines: business, health, literature, math, the sciences, and more.
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new windowCreated by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE allows users to search abstracts (summaries) from current biomedical journals, with some full text.
- Proquest: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new windoweBooks and journals related to health and medicine including career and technical information for health professionals.
- PubMed Central This link opens in a new windowScholarly articles in biomedical and life sciences journal literature from the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
- Science (Journal) This link opens in a new windowOriginal scientific research, global news and commentary. Full text access from 1997 to the current issue. For issues prior to 1997 see JSTOR.
- Science Direct This link opens in a new windowHigher-level scientific database offering peer-reviewed journal articles and book chapters.
- SpringerLink This link opens in a new windoweBooks and journals on a variety of topics, particularly science and medicine.
Academic Journals
Photo
Drugs can be defined as "any substance, other than food, used in the prevention, diagnosis, alleviation, treatment, or cure of disease that tend to be stimulating or depressing, and often addictive, especially a narcotic."
(Definition from: "Drug." The Free Dictionary, 06 April 2021, https://medical-dictionary.thefreedictionary.com/drug.)
Non-CSN Resources
- ClinicalTrials.govDatabase of clinical studies conducted around the world hosted by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
- Food and Drug AdministrationList of drugs approved by the FDA