SOC 102 - Thomas
Intro
Note: To access the links on this page, make sure you are logged in using your 10 Digit NSHE Student ID Number and myCSN password. For additional assistance logging in, please call the Help Desk at 702-651-5555.
The U.S. Department of Education defines homeless as "individuals who lack a fixed, regular, and adequate nighttime residence." This can refer to adults and children suffering from a loss of housing due to economic hardship or a related reason.
(Definition from: "Key Federal Terms and Definitions of Homelessness Among Youth." United States Interagency Council on Homelessness, 06 April 2021, https://www.usich.gov/resources/uploads/asset_library/Federal-Definitions-of-Youth-Homelessness.pdf.)
Non-CSN Resources
- Annual Homeless Assessment ReportAnnual report to Congress including information about the demographic characteristics of homeless persons, service use patterns, and the capacity to house homeless persons
- National Alliance to End HomelessnessA global non-profit organization providing data, publications, news, and toolkits as well as a general overview of homelessness in the U.S.
Homelessness-Related Databases
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowAcademic journals, magazines, reports, books, and select newspapers on virtually any subject.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowIn-depth reports on current and controversial issues, with overviews, outlooks, background information, pros and cons, bibliographies and more.
- EBSCO Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch across more than 20 subject collections for a variety of sources including journal articles and books.
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowAccess to educational research reports along with information from nearly 1,000 education related journals.
- Issues and Controversies on File This link opens in a new windowObjective, in-depth information on the most prominent and hotly debated issues of the day with clear explanations of opposing points of view.
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new windowCreated by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE allows users to search abstracts (summaries) from current biomedical journals, with some full text.
- ProQuest: Psychology Database This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and indexing for key psychology titles, many of which are available in full text and are indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology, and psychometrics.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary collection of magazine, journal and newspaper articles.
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowPeer-reviewed journals related to psychology, psychiatry and related behavioral sciences.