COM 101 - Simpson
The library guide for COM 101 taught by Alex Simpson
What's your topic?
Select the broad topic that is most relevant to your research for database recommendations.
While you can start searching for sources of information through the CSN Libraries' search bar, you can often experience more productive and relevant searches if you start with a database that's more specific to your research topic.
Select a topic from the box titled "What's your topic?" to start browsing.
Looking for some background or general information instead?
Reference materials, like encyclopedias or reference databases, are useful places to start when you want to learn more background or basic information about a topic. If you're still thinking about what topic you want to research, or you feel like you could learn more general information about a topic, you might want to start with these resources listed below.
-
Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowEncyclopedias and specialized reference sources, with links to additional CSN Library databases and resources.
-
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new windowEncyclopedias and specialized reference sources covering a broad range of subjects and disciplines.
Looking for pro/con information?
There are even specialized databases that help with understanding different perspectives on the same issue. The databases below are useful for learning about the pro/con arguments of a particular topic.
-
Issues and Controversies on File This link opens in a new windowObjective, in-depth information on the most prominent and hotly debated issues of the day with clear explanations of opposing points of view.
-
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowPro and con information on a variety of contemporary social issues along with articles from magazines, journals, newspapers and other sources.
Your librarian for COM 101:
Chat with a Librarian!
CSN Librarians are available to chat with you about your research questions during most library hours. You can start a chat by filling in the boxes below and selecting "Start Chat". If a librarian is not available, you can still submit your question and receive a response within 24 hours.