ANTH 299 - Lucas

What is an Annotated Bibliography?

An annotated bibliography is a list of citations to books, articles, and documents and follows the appropriate style format for the discipline, i.e., MLA, APA, Chicago Manual of Style, etc. Each citation is followed by a brief (usually about 150 words) annotation. The purpose of the annotation is to inform the reader of the relevance, accuracy, and quality of the sources cited. Unlike abstracts which are purely descriptive summaries often found at the beginning of scholarly journal articles or in periodical indexes, annotations are descriptive and critical; they expose the author's point of view, clarity and appropriateness of expression, and authority.

What to Include in an Annotation

After the citation of a source, begin writing your annotation. Your annotation should include information that summarizes the central theme and scope of the book or article. Include one or more sentences that:

• evaluate the authority or background of the author,
• comment on the intended audience,
• compare or contrast this work with another you have cited, or
• explain how this work illuminates your bibliography topic.

The annotation should include most, if not all, of the following:

• Explanation of the main purpose and scope of the cited work;
• Brief description of the work's format and content;
• Theoretical basis and currency of the author's argument;
• Author's intellectual/academic credentials;
• Work's intended audience;
• Value and significance of the work as a contribution to the subject under consideration;
• Possible shortcomings or bias in the work;
• Any significant special features of the work (e.g., glossary, appendices, particularly good index);
• Your own brief impression of the work.

Information from: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/annotatedbibliography

Example of a Chicago Manual of Style Annotation

Example from: https://owl.purdue.edu/owl/general_writing/common_writing_assignments/annotated_bibliographies/annotated_bibliography_samples.html