Useful Databases at CSN Libraries - ALS 101 - Rhodes - Library Guides at College of Southern Nevada

Finding Peer-Reviewed Articles at CSN Libraries

You can search through the CSN Libraries Find Articles page to search for peer-reviewed research on your topic.

Whether you are searching through the CSN Library catalog or a specific database, using filters will help you narrow down the results to get the type of sources best-suited for your research. The image below is an example of the recommended filters you can use on the library's catalog. If you are searching through a specific database, the filters may look different but remain generally the same.

Recommended filters:

Full Text Online will ensure that you are able to read the full article, not just an excerpt.
Peer Reviewed Journals will give you articles that have been reviewed by experts in the field to ensure academic quality.
Selecting Journal Articles narrows down your search to the type of material you are interested in.
For science-related research, try searching for sources from the last 5-10 years as information is rapidly changing.
Choose relevant topic areas under Subject (ex. Anthropology, Social Sciences).

CSN Databases

While the library's main search bar searches all of our databases at once, you can also search for resources in specific databases. This strategy is particularly helpful if you want to focus more within your discipline or browse other sources to get ideas. The following databases are the most relevant to this course.

All Databases at CSN Libraries

EBSCO Complete This link opens in a new window
Search across more than 20 subject collections for a variety of sources including journal articles and books.

ProQuest
A collection of magazine, journal and newspaper articles for research.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Pro and con information on a variety of contemporary social issues along with articles from magazines, journals, newspapers and other sources.
Learning Express - Practice Tests This link opens in a new window
Extensive library of practice tests and tutorials covering a wide range of subjects and professions including nursing, firefighting, law enforcement, Praxis, computer skills, grammar, math, vocabulary and more.

NOTE: To use this resource you will need to create a free individual account which is separate from your CSN login.
Mometrix Test Preparation This link opens in a new window
Provides unofficial test preparation products for a variety of exams. Find study guides, flashcards, and practice questions for many common tests. Search for your exam or review employment resources provided.
A to Z: The World This link opens in a new window
Country guides covering a wide range of topics such as business culture, human rights, food, climate and religion.
Las Vegas/Nevada News (Newsbank) This link opens in a new window
Search articles from the Las Vegas Review Journal, Las Vegas Sun, Boulder City View and Henderson View.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias and specialized reference sources covering a broad range of subjects and disciplines.
U.S. History In Context This link opens in a new window
Primary sources, reference works and magazine, journal and newspaper articles related to U.S. history. View Brief Overview Tutorial.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of scholarly articles from a variety of disciplines: business, health, literature, math, the sciences, and more.

Now also includes access to Artstor's image database containing digitized works of art from most time periods and artistic endeavors including painting, sculpture, architecture and more.
EBSCOhost eBooks This link opens in a new window
eBooks on a variety of topics.

Google Scholar

For all kinds of tricky citations, Google Schola r can be your saving grace. If you have just a partial citation (like an author, date, and subject) use the Advanced Search in Google Scholar to piece together the missing information.

Many universities are now publishing theses and dissertations in institutional repositories, which are freely available on the web and searchable via Google Scholar. You may be able to find recent dissertations on your research subject online!

Conferences and associations also sometimes publish their proceedings and publications freely online, so they may be accessible through Google Scholar.

Google Scholar is a go-to source for academic librarians, and you can use it too!