Introduction to Disability Services (MHDD 110) - Thomas
Library Databases
CSN Libraries has many databases with sources relevant to your research topics. Here are a few to get you started!
(Make sure you are logged in with your NSHE ID# and MyCSN password to access the full-text online.)
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowAcademic journals, magazines, reports, books, and select newspapers on virtually any subject.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAn archive of scholarly articles from a variety of disciplines: business, health, literature, math, the sciences, and more. Current issues of journals are not available in JSTOR.
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new windowCreated by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE allows users to search abstracts (summaries) from current biomedical journals, with some full text.
- Proquest: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new windoweBooks and journals related to health and medicine including career and technical information for health professionals.
- Proquest: Social Sciences This link opens in a new windoweBooks, journals and trade publications related to the social sciences.
- PubMed Central This link opens in a new windowScholarly articles in biomedical and life sciences journal literature from the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
Tips for Searching in Databases
You can search through the CSN Libraries Find Articles page to search for peer-reviewed research on your topic.
On the results screen from any database choose the types of material you want. Including availability, "peer-reviewed" articles, publication dates, and subject areas you want to include (each database will look different, but the limiters on the left side of databases remains the same):
- Peer Reviewed Journals and Full Text Online under Availability
- Journal Articles under Content Type
- 2014 as From year under Publication Date
- Choose relevant topic areas under Subject (ex. Microbiology, Genetics)
How to Search in Databases
Searching in academic databases can be trickier than searching in Google. Review these videos will show you how to pull keywords about your topic and use Boolean Logic to get to best results.