Biology Laboratory Research Paper (BIOL190L)
Biology 190 Introduction to Cell and Molecular Biology - Fall 2021
Finding Peer-Reviewed Articles at CSN Libraries
You can search through the CSN Libraries Find Articles page to search for peer-reviewed research on your topic. If you need to find out whether a source is peer-reviewed or not? Use Ulrichsweb to search by journal title name to see if your material has been through a rigorous peer-reviewed process.
On the results screen from any database choose the types of material you want. Including availability, "peer-reviewed" articles, publication dates, and subject areas you want to include (each database will look different, but the limiters on the left side of databases remains the same):
- Peer Reviewed Journals and Full Text Online under Availability
- Journal Articles under Content Type
- 2014 as From year under Publication Date
- Choose relevant topic areas under Subject (ex. Microbiology, Genetics)
Biology Databases for Peer-Reviewed (Primary) Articles
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new windowCreated by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE allows users to search abstracts (summaries) from current biomedical journals, with some full text.
- Science Direct This link opens in a new windowHigher-level scientific database offering peer-reviewed journal articles and book chapters.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary collection of magazine, journal and newspaper articles.
- EBSCO Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch across more than 20 subject collections for a variety of sources including journal articles and books.
- SpringerLink This link opens in a new windoweBooks and journals on a variety of topics, particularly science and medicine.
- Science (Journal) This link opens in a new windowOriginal scientific research, global news and commentary. Full text access from 1997 to the current issue. For issues prior to 1997 see JSTOR.
- Nature This link opens in a new windowWeekly international journal publishing the finest peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology. Access to the most recent 4 years of content.
- Medical Lab ObserverMedical Laboratory Observer publishes peer-reviewed articles, CE courses, lab management tips, regulatory updates, industry trends, and new product reviews for medical lab directors and managers.
- Journal of Molecular BiologyThe Journal of Molecular Biology provides high quality, comprehensive and broad coverage in all areas of molecular biology. The journal publishes original scientific research papers that provide mechanistic and functional insights and report a significant advance to the field. The journal encourages the submission of multidisciplinary studies that use complementary experimental and computational approaches to address challenging biological questions.
- The Journal of Molecular DiagnosticsPublishes high quality original papers on scientific advances in the translation and validation of molecular discoveries.
- Public Library of Science (PLoS ONE)Peer-reviewed articles on a wide variety of topics in biology.
- JAMA: Journal of the American Medical Association (1998-present) This link opens in a new windowPublished continuously since 1883, JAMA is one of the most widely circulated peer-reviewed medical journals in the world. Access articles published as far back as 1998.
- JAMA: Journal of the American Medical Association (1998-present) This link opens in a new windowJAMA is one of the most widely circulated peer-reviewed medical journals.
- JoVE: Cell Biology This link opens in a new windowShort videos profiling the five important cellular phenomena.
- JoVE: Basic Methods in Cellular and Molecular Biology This link opens in a new windowShort videos showing how to execute basic techniques commonly used in cellular and molecular biology.
- JoVE: Developmental Biology This link opens in a new windowShort videos providing a brief history of developmental biology.
- JoVE: Neuroscience This link opens in a new windowShort Videos about practical and professional level neuroscience.
Google Scholar
For all kinds of tricky citations, Google Scholar can be your saving grace. If you have just a partial citation (like an author, date, and subject) use the Advanced Search in Google Scholar to piece together the missing information.
Many universities are now publishing theses and dissertations in institutional repositories, which are freely available on the web and searchable via Google Scholar. You may be able to find recent dissertations on your research subject online!
Conferences and associations also sometimes publish their proceedings and publications freely online, so they may be accessible through Google Scholar.
Google Scholar is a go-to source for academic librarians, and you can use it too!