ENG 100 - Larakers
What is your topic?
Select the topic area that is most relevant to your research for recommendations.
Database Recommendations
Research databases are useful for finding academic and scholarly articles. Some databases are also for specific types of information sources, like newspapers, videos, or primary sources. You can use these databases listed below to find relevant information on the topics related to Technology, Distraction, and Social Media.
How you use a database can vary, but most include the same search features and functions that you would use to search the library catalog. For a refresher on how to search using your keywords, check out the Finding Articles video tutorial in the Libraries' Research 101 guide.
Recommended Databases
-
ERIC This link opens in a new windowAccess to educational research reports along with information from nearly 1,000 education related journals.
-
Proquest: Science & Technology This link opens in a new windoweBooks and journals related to science and technology.
-
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowPeer-reviewed journals related to psychology, psychiatry and related behavioral sciences.
If you have trouble accessing any of these databases, make sure that you're logged into your library account while using this guide. You can locate "My Account" on the top-right corner of this page and select "Account Overview" to prompt a login; your username and password are the same as what you use to log into Canvas.
If that doesn't resolve the issue, you can also try chatting with a librarian which can be found on this page, or email your class librarian for help.
E-Book Recommendations
What about an e-book?
At the library, we're always updating our collection of materials, including e-books! Here are some titles we currently have that cover some of the topics you may be researching.
For a summary of the book, select the information icon 
next to the book title.
To access an e-book, select the title of the e-book and then select the "Online Access" link.
From there, select the link provided that appears in this "View Online" section.
The link may be different depending on the e-book, but any link in this "View Online" section should take you to the e-book. You can often download full versions of the e-book, or download specific chapters based on your needs or interests.
If you need help accessing an e-book, don't hesitate to use the Chat with a Librarian feature on this page.
-
Distracted
by
Keeping students focused can be difficult in a world filled with distractions -- which is why a renowned educator created a scientific solution to one of every teacher's biggest problems. Why is it so hard to get students to pay attention? Conventional wisdom blames iPhones, insisting that access to technology has ruined students' ability to focus. The logical response is to ban electronics in class. But acclaimed educator James M. Lang argues that this solution obscures a deeper problem: how we teach is often at odds with how students learn. Classrooms are designed to force students into long periods of intense focus, but emerging science reveals that the brain is wired for distraction. We learn best when able to actively seek and synthesize new information. In Distracted, Lang rethinks the practice of teaching, revealing how educators can structure their classrooms less as distraction-free zones and more as environments where they can actively cultivate their students' attention. Brimming with ideas and grounded in new research, Distracted offers an innovative plan for the most important lesson of all: how to learn.
ISBN: 9781541647565Publication Date: 2020-10-20 -
The Social Media Debate
by
This accessible, student-friendly book provides a concise overview of the primary debates surrounding the impact and effects of social media. From Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram to Snapchat and TikTok, social media has become part of our everyday experience. However, its proliferation has brought a myriad of serious concerns about the long-term effects of social media on socializing and personal relationships and the impact on well-being and mental health (particularly in relation to children and adolescents), as well as issues linked to information and culture (such as privacy, misinformation, and manipulation). Featuring contributions by leading international scholars and established authorities such as Christian Fuchs, Henry Jenkins, Michael A. Stefanone, and Joan Donovan, editor Devan Rosen brings together key contemporary research from multiple disciplines in order to provide crucial insight into these debates. This book will be an important resource for students and scholars of media and communication, as well as educators, parents, policy makers, and clinicians interested in the impacts of social media.
ISBN: 9781003171270Publication Date: 2022-02-17 -
Mental Health in the Digital Age
by
This second edition of this highly impactful book examines the intersection of mental health and digital technology to make informed decisions about the new options provided by digital technology. It highlights the rise in online therapy and social media and examines the ethical dilemmas involved in online research to suggest that the benefits created far outweigh the possible risks. This expanded and updated second edition, includes practical suggestions for clinicians and public, builds upon the first by updating readers on recent developments in technology and research in this area since 2015. It explores ways in which governments and practitioners responded to the mental health crisis caused by the Covid-19 pandemic, and looks at the challenges as well as the benefits of our increasing interaction online.
ISBN: 9783031321221Publication Date: 2024-06-16 -
The Psychology of Evolving Technology: How Social Media, Influencer Culture and New Technologies are Altering Society
by
Technological innovations have advanced at an incredible speed since the introduction of the computer that it has altered the fabric of our society. The possession of computers, smart-devices, along with social media, texting and video games, is now an intimate part of the structure of our culture. This book is a framework to start a conversation on how technology is changing our lifestyles and transforming our world. There is now an entire generation that has been using technology through the most delicate developmental time in their lives. This book presents how to look at the cognitive and psychosocial developmental stages and what are the age-appropriate milestones and factsheet of behaviors at different ages. It provides insight into the strength and vulnerable characteristics at each stage and the prevalence of some negative conditions in our society. You will gain a perspective of the encouraging and challenging aspects of computer learning, smart devices, and how to start and keep the conversation going from infancy to adulthood in order to keep and maintain your virtues and ways to circumvent unfavorable consequences.
ISBN: 9781484286869Publication Date: 2022-12-30
Your class librarian for ENG 100:
Chat with a Librarian!
CSN Librarians are available to chat with you about your research questions during most library hours. You can start a chat by filling in the boxes below and selecting "Start Chat". If a librarian is not available, you can still submit your question and receive a response within 24 hours.