EDU 214 - Asherian

This course is project base but students will need to do research for example to find information and create rubrics to evaluate technology, they need to do research to find scholarly articles on what are the benefits of teaching with technology.

Course Objectives

• Identify technology tools for integration across the curriculum
• Analyze ethical and social issues related to increased use of computers in schools
• Embed technology into the curriculum planning for the purpose of enhancing teaching and learning
• Demonstrate awareness of opportunities to adapt instruction using assistive technology

EDU 214 Portfolio Artifacts #1

Software Literacy: These portfolio artifacts will demonstrate that the student can create original works as a means of personal or group expression by selecting and using common applications creatively, effectively and productively.

Students will produce and archive one chosen product and reflection for each of the areas below:

• Drawing/painting
• Graphic organizer/word processing
• Linear/Nonlinear Slide show presentation
• Spreadsheet/Database

The instructor will provide specific details of the format required for each submission, and due date for submission of these artifacts.

EDU 214 Portfolio Artifacts #2

Emerging technology: This portfolio artifact will demonstrate that the student knows how to use journal databases and other online resources to conduct research on emerging technologies that are being integrated into the classroom for different grade levels, and how the technologies impact the teaching and learning process. Students will have an understanding on how the technology works, and its benefits for classroom use.

The instructor will provide specific assignment details and scoring criteria for this assignment.

EDU 214 Portfolio Artifacts #3

Exploration of Technology Standards: This portfolio artifact will demonstrate students broad understanding of how CCSD Technology Education Standards, Nevada Performance Indicators, and National Educational Technology Standards impact instruction across different grade levels, and how recommended levels of sophistication between technology instruction at the elementary, middle and high school grades impact instructional choices.

The instructor will provide specific assignment details and scoring criteria for this assignment.

EDU 214 Portfolio Artifacts #4

Lesson Planning: This portfolio artifact will demonstrate that you understand the required planning, organizing, and thinking that goes on during the creation of an effective technology infused lesson plan at the grade level and subject you plan to teach. Each student will create a detailed lesson plan for any grade level that covers, at a minimum these 4 areas:

1. Standards
2. Objectives
3. Materials
4. Procedure
5. Closure
6. Assessment
7. References

The instructor will provide specific assignment details and scoring criteria for this assignment.

Search engines will search for exactly what you type into them, including words like "the". You need to make sure you're only using the words that represent your key concepts.

Start by writing out your research question. For example: What new emerging technologies would be beneficial to the classroom?

Identify any limits in the question. Some examples of these are: geographical locations, periods in history, demographic groups, specific types of clinical tests, or the date range for the literature you are searching. These will help you to refine your search. Some of these limits will be used as keywords. Some will be filters in a database. Example: What emerging technologies would be beneficial to the classroom?

Next Identify the words and phrases that represent the key concepts you are searching for information on, e.g. Example:  What emerging technologies would be beneficial to the classroom?

Arrange your keywords into a table or mind map and brainstorm alternatives including:

• synonyms (words that mean exactly or nearly the same),
• broader terms (the main subject area that your keywords belong in) and
• narrower terms (often specific examples of the concept).

After you identify the key concepts you need to find information on, you can use these techniques to maximise the potential of each of the words and phrases:

"Phrase searching"

Sometimes an idea is represented by a group of two or more words. In searching this is referred to as a phrase. To search for a phrase, use double quotation marks around the words. This tells the database to search for occurrences of this specific group of words in exactly this order.
Example: "emerging technologies"

Truncation *

When there are various forms of a word, you can cut it back to the root word and add a truncation symbol. This creates a search for all the variations without having to type each one in separately. Truncation symbols vary slightly between databases, so use the 'Help' or 'Search Tips' options to check which one you need.
Example: account* will search for account, accountant, accounting, ...

Wildcards ?

There may be variations in the spelling of words, e.g. British English and American English have different spellings for some words. If you search with only one spelling, you will miss the relevant results with the alternate spelling. A wildcard character is a symbol that can be used to replace a letter within a word. Wildcard symbols vary slightly between databases, so use the 'Help' or 'Search Tips' options to check which one you need.
Example: organi?ation will search for both organisation and organization.

Plural terms

Check how the database you are using searches for single/plural versions of keywords - this can have a huge impact on your results, as some databases will automatically search for the plural version of a singular term, but not the reverse (this information is usually included under 'Help' or 'Search Tips').

Keywords can be formatted and combined into searches using specific words and symbols. You can use these techniques to maximise the effectiveness of your searches and get better quality results.

AND

AND is used to combine words for different concepts. It tells the database to find results where all the of the words appear. It narrows your search.
Example: "emerging technologies" AND classroom

OR

OR is used to add synonyms or similar concepts to the search. It tells the database to find results where one of the words or phrases appears. It broadens your search.
Example: new OR emerging OR current OR state-of-the-art

NOT

NOT is used to exclude terms you don't want to find. It narrows your search.
Example: classroom NOT "higher education"

(Brackets)

Brackets () are used when you are using both AND and OR in a basic search. Because there is only one search box in a basic search, brackets are needed to group the synonyms that are combined using OR. The other words that have been combined with AND go outside the brackets. This tells the database to find at least one of the words or phrases from within the brackets as well as all of the words that are outside the brackets. It is a way of doing multiple searches at the same time.
Example: (new OR emerging OR current OR state-of-the-art) AND "emerging technologies" AND classroom

Most databases provide a range of options which enable you to refine your search results by manipulating specific elements of your search. Each database has it's own options for refining the search, the following are common to most databases:

Basic limits

There are basic limits that usually just require you to tick a checkbox, or select/enter dates. These are usually near the top of the menu and include:

• Publication Date
• Peer-reviewed content
• Type of Publication

Article type

Some databases allow you to limit your search to a specific type of document, e.g:

• Academic journal articles
• Case studies
• Conference papers
• Technical papers
• Reports
• Review articles

Specific fields of the database record

Each item in a database has a record that contains information about it, e.g. who the author's are, which year it was published in, the title etc. All of this information is put into specific fields. You can use theses fields to build much more accurate searches. If you go to the Advanced Search you'll find a dropdown list of available fields next to each search box. Enter your words into the box and select the field you want to search for them in. Examples of searchable fields include:

• Author
• Title – this is the article title
• Subject
• Abstract – this is the summary of the article.
• Title, Abstract and Keywords
• All except full text – this is all fields of the record but not the full article. It includes the abstract.
• Publication Name – this is the journal title

Subject Terms

Subject Terms, also known as subject headings, are set terms used to group documents by topic in databases. You can use these in addition to you keywords to refine your search, because multiple keywords will come under the same subject heading.

You might find them:

• in the item record, (usually hyperlinked so you can click on them to get a list of titles grouped under that heading),
• as fields to search from a menu beside the search box, or
• in the side menu of search limiters in the results list.

You need to review your search results both during, and after, your searches. This helps to ensure that your results are relevant and comprehensive.

During your searches:

• Think about the number of results. New areas of research may only have a few dozen articles published whilst a well-established area will have hundreds (or more).Generally, aim for results lists with no more than 100-150 articles per search - larger numbers will be difficult to work through, and may indicate that your search has not focused closely enough on specific aspects of your topic.
   
• Briefly review each article. Don't rely on the article title. Read the abstract to get a clearer picture of what is covered in the article. This will help you short-list the articles that are most likely to be relevant. You will still need to read the full article for everything in your short-list, to determine whether you can use it or not, but you will have a smaller number to read in full.
   
• As you work through the articles, you might like to check whether you have a balance between research and review articles, and recent and older research. The preferred balance will vary according to the nature of the topic.

After your searches:

Consider your results as a whole. If you have some familiarity with the topic, you may be able to identify whether well-known researchers are represented in your results, or research that you were already aware of (if not, why not?). Consider whether the results appear to be a fair representation of what you would have expected to find, or whether there are elements missing.

Databases are designed to be mined for information, so make the most of them and get as much information as you can from your search results:

• Once you have located a relevant citation, look at the complete record to see if there are other terms listed which might be useful for searching. Depending on the database you are using, these may be called subject headings, descriptors, concepts, codes etc.
   
• Check the reference lists of relevant articles for other relevant citations.
   
• If you have identified significant researcher/s, try an Author search on their name/s.
   
• If you are using the Scopus database, use the cited by links to see how other authors have used a particular article. For Web of Science use the Times cited links.
   
• If a particular search has yielded good results, consider creating an alert for it. This instructs the database to run the search automatically on a regular basis, and notify you when new articles are published in your area of interest.

If you aren't finding what you are looking for in your search try using different keyword or synonyms that you identified. If that isn't working you can always contact Gracie McDonough or another librarian for help using CSN Library's chat.

There are seven basic steps in the search process:

1. Identifying the keywords and phrases that reflect the key concepts of your research topic.
2. Formatting these key words and phrases using techniques such as phrase searching and truncation that make the most of them.
3. Turning these key words and phrases into effective searches using a few easy to master techniques.
4. Using the filters and limits in databases to optimize your searches.
5. Reviewing/evaluating your search results.
6. Making the most of your search results – by using the information in database records and article reference lists to find other resources.
7. Search again – Searching is not a linear process. And it is not enough to do just one search. You will need separate searches for each aspect of your topic. You will also need to repeat your searches in multiple databases. As you continue to search and read the literature related to your topic, you will find that you need to modify your searches to include the other keywords you come across, or other aspects of the topic you need to investigate.