Library Instruction for ENG 102-Holland

This guide contains the most useful library resources for your research assignment. If you have any questions please contact me by email or through Chat with A CSN Librarian.

Welcome

Hello Ms. Holland's students! I'm Stephanie Espinoza Villamor, an eLearning Librarian at CSN. I work from home three days a week and I'm on the Henderson campus on Thursdays and Fridays. Please see the library's reopening page for campus visits and getting help remotely. I've listed some of the library resources that will work best for your research. Ms. Holland has excellent examples of each type of paper that you are required to submit in Canvas so be sure to take a look at them. I will be able to help you navigate the library's website and find credible information from books and ebooks, films, and articles from databases. I'll also explain how to use the tools found in databases so that you can limit results, print the articles, and get an MLA formatted citation.

If you have any questions about using library resources, please chat with me or email your question (please allow 24 hours for email responses during the week and 48 hours on the weekend). My virtual office hours are Mondays from 8am-10am, but if that doesn't work for you, we can set up an appointment, you can email me, or you can get help from any librarian through our Online Chat service!

If you need help with organizing or writing your paper please use Smartthinking to get help. The link is available in the menu in your Canvas Course.

Library Resources

Here is a list of library databases that will work best for your assignments. If you are working off campus you will have to log into the library as you click on a database or electronic resource. Use your Canvas login and password. A database is a collection of records that links to books, articles and films. You can search all the databases at one time by using the search box on the home page. Or you can go to an individual database that specializes in a subject area. All databases have tools to print pages, email articles, or get formatted citations.

Starting from the CSN Library homepage:

Use the large search box on the homepage to try out searches and see what kinds of results you might get. There may be books, articles, or films in the list coming from several different databases. In this search you can uses phrases and keywords; use advanced search to separate keywords with connecting words such as "and" "or" "not". Use "conspiracy theories" to get results for this broad subject. You may want to use terms to reflect why people believe in conspiracy theories such as: conspiracy theories and belief. Maybe even try: conspiracy theories and why.

Use the Find Books button to look for print books to check out in the library and e-books to access from home. Use the filters on the left hand side to limit by print (available in the library) or ebooks (full text online). You can also limit by campus or publication date. Find Articles and Find Films work the same way. The results come from several different databases and you can use the filters on the left-hand side for publication date and scholarly articles. 

Click on Browse Databases to find an alphabetical list of databases for different subject areas and topics.

Use Gale Virtual Reference Library (Gale Ebooks) to find a basic overview of your topic, including the definition, history, and important persons. Use keywords "conspiracy theories" or "conspiracy theory and pizzagate".

Use ProQuest and EBSCO to find scholarly articles along with newspaper and magazine articles. Be sure to add your topic to the search terms and click on the full-text box.

What's the difference between popular and scholarly articles? and How do I evaluate a website? are some FAQs that will help you understand what type of information you are finding and how to make sure the information is credible when searching the Internet.

Ask me for help!

Chat with a Librarian!