Dreamland (OBOC 2018-2019)
One Book, One College 2018-2019
Health Sciences
Professional Organizations
- American Medical Association: End the EpidemicThe AMA's task force on the opioid epidemic.
Research Databases
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowScholarly articles from journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new windowCreated by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE allows users to search abstracts (summaries) from current biomedical journals, with some full text.
- PubMed Central This link opens in a new windowScholarly articles in biomedical and life sciences journal literature from the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
Pro/Con
Research Databases
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowIn-depth reports on current and controversial issues, with overviews, outlooks, background information, pros and cons, bibliographies and more.
Relevant reports from CQ Researcher database include:
- Foster Care: Can the System Handle Soaring Demand?Focuses on increasing demand for foster care "stemming largely from parental opioid abuse that has shattered families and orphaned thousands of children."
- Drug Abuse: Can Legislation Help Curb Deaths & Treat Addiction?Focuses on opioid drug overdoses.
______________
- Issues and Controversies on File This link opens in a new windowObjective, in-depth information on the most prominent and hotly debated issues of the day with clear explanations of opposing points of view.
Relevant reports from Issues & Controversies database include:
_____________
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowPro and con information on a variety of contemporary social issues along with articles from magazines, journals, newspapers and other sources.
Relevant reports from Opposing Viewpoints in Context include:
More Search Options
- Search for books, films articles and moreThe main search box on our Library website allows you to search across multiple databases at once.
- Find ArticlesSearch across multiple databases to find articles from newspapers, magazines and journals.
- Browse Databases By SubjectUse the "All Subjects" drop down menu for a list of library databases by subject.
Psychology
Research Databases
- PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new windowPeer-reviewed scientific articles in psychology from the American Psychological Association (APA).
- Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5) Library This link opens in a new windowServes as the standard professional diagnostic tool in the mental health field. This collection includes the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, and DSM-5 Clinical Cases.
Criminal Justice
Research Databases
- Criminal Justice Periodicals This link opens in a new windowU.S. and international criminal justice journals, providing information on criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law and industrial security.
- Nexis UniBusiness, legal and news sources. Search for opinions in court cases.
Marketing
Research Databases
- RedbooksAdvertising information for businesses, brands and advertising agencies. Search by company to see how much is spent on advertising, key people, related news articles, and other information.
- ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch or browse for business, economics and market research from journals, dissertations and reports. Covers business trends, economic conditions, corporate strategies, management theory, finance and more.
- IBISWorld Industry Market Research This link opens in a new windowBusiness statistics, strategic insight and analysis on U.S. industries.