ENG 231 - Larakers
Finding Academic Articles at CSN Libraries
You can search through the CSN Libraries Find Articles page to search for peer-reviewed research on your topic.
Whether you are searching through the CSN Library catalog or a specific database, using filters will help you narrow down the results to get the type of sources best-suited for your research. The image below is an example of the recommended filters you can use on the library's catalog. If you are searching through a specific database, the filters may look different but remain generally the same.
Recommended filters:
- Full Text Online will ensure that you are able to read the full article, not just an excerpt.
- Peer Reviewed Journals will give you articles that have been reviewed by experts in the field to ensure academic quality.
- Selecting Journal Articles narrows down your search to the type of material you are interested in.
- For science-related research, try searching for sources from the last 5-10 years as information is rapidly changing.
- Choose relevant topic areas under Subject (ex. Anthropology, Social Sciences).
5 Recommended Databases for Literature-Specific Articles
The Find Articles option described in the box to the right will show articles, books, and reference sources from over 100 databases at once. While you are welcome to start there, often times you can find even more relevant articles when searching from our subject-specific databases. Explore any of the following databases to find articles for your Cultural Contexts assignment:
-
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary collection of magazine, journal and newspaper articles.
-
EBSCO Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch across more than 20 subject collections for a variety of sources including journal articles and books.
-
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new windowLiterary criticism covering most time periods and literary disciplines, from classical to contemporary, from short stories and poetry to drama.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAn archive of scholarly articles from a variety of disciplines: business, health, literature, math, the sciences, and more.
-
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowAcademic journals, magazines, reports, books, and select newspapers on virtually any subject.
Need help finding resources? Chat with a librarian!
CSN Librarians are available to chat with you about your research questions during most library hours. You can start a chat by filling in the boxes below and selecting "Start Chat". If a librarian is not available, you can still submit your question and receive a response within 24 hours.