Banner Image

Music

Find Background Information: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

These dictionaries and encyclopedias are great places to get quick, accurate information.

CSN Online Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Oxford Reference Online: Performing Arts - Short definitions and descriptions.

Credo Reference: Music - A list of Topic Pages that provide definitions, articles and links to other resources.

Gale Virtual Reference Library: Music - Longer encyclopedia articles.

Free Online Encyclopedias

Performing Arts Encyclopedia - Guide to performing arts resources at the Library of Congress, including scores, sheet music, audio recordings, films, photographs, and other materials.

Find eBooks

To find additional ebooks and print books, search in the CSN Library Catalog.

Music Related eBooks

Find Websites

Below are links to selected reliable websites.

Tips on using websites: When in doubt, evaluate! See if you can identify who is responsible for the website’s content and that the information is credible, unbiased, and current.

Use the Evaluating Websites guide to be sure the website is appropriate for college level research.

AllAboutJazz.com - Articles, audio clips, photos—all about Jazz.

Billboard - Music news, reviews, articles, and information.

Blues - PBS website to accompany the series on the blues.

Hiphop Archive - Find information about Hiphop and the culture of Hiphop.

Lester S. Levy Collection of Sheet Music at the Johns Hopkins University - Collection consists of American popular music from 1780 to 1980.

New Music USA - Resources for and about contemporary musicians and composers.

NPR Music - Read interviews, listen to studio sessions, watch videos, all about music.

Sibley Music Library: Musical Scores - A large library of digitized musical scores.

Welcome

This is a guide to recommended library and online resources related to music.

Use OneSearch to search most CSN Library Services music resources, including books, articles, and videos.

OneSearch: Music

 

For more information, check out:

CSN Library Services - Access to all of the library's resources.

Start Your Research - CSN's guide to researching any topic.

If you need help, ask a CSN librarian.

Find Articles

The databases listed below provide a wealth of articles from magazines and academic journals.

Tips on using databases:

  • Limit to full-text to get whole articles instead of a summaries.
  • Limit to peer-reviewed to find scholarly research articles only.

ProQuest: The Arts - Covers music within an interdisciplinary collection of academic journals.

JSTOR - Includes historical and recent music related academic journals.

Newsstand - Coverage of music and other performing arts in New York Times, Los Angeles Times and others.

Find Streaming Music & Online Videos

For additional CSN online videos and DVDs, search in the CSN Library Catalog.

Films on Demand: Music & Dance - Over 150 streaming videos related to music and dance.

Music & Performing Arts in Video - Nearly 300 opera streaming videos.

SnagFilms Arts Documentary Films - Free streaming documentaries on a wide variety of music related topics.

Great Performances - Multimedia presentations of dance and other performing arts from the long-running PBS series.

Music Programs

CSN Program

Music Program

Associate of Arts (AA), Music Emphasis: Degree sheet

NSHE Programs

UNLV Department of Music - Undergraduate and graduate programs

UNR Department of Music - Undergraduate and graduate programs