Banner Image

Dance

Find Background Information: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

These dictionaries and encyclopedias are great places to get quick, accurate information.

CSN Online Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Oxford Reference Online: Performing Arts - Short definitions and descriptions.

International Encyclopedia of Dance - Covers the full spectrum of dance, including biographies of famous dancers and choreographers.

Credo Reference: Dance - Definitions, encyclopedia articles and links to other resources.

Free Online Encyclopedias

Performing Arts Encyclopedia - Guide to performing arts resources at the Library of Congress, including scores, sheet music, audio recordings, films, photographs, and other materials.

American Ballet Theater: Ballet Dictionary - Terms from the Technical Manual and Dictionary of Classical Ballet demonstrated by dancers.

Find eBooks

To find additional ebooks and print books, search in the CSN Library Catalog.

Dance Related eBooks

Find Websites

Below are links to selected reliable websites.

Tips on using websites: When in doubt, evaluate! See if you can identify who is responsible for the website’s content and that the information is credible, unbiased, and current.

Use the Evaluating Websites guide to be sure the website is appropriate for college level research.

Dance Magazine - Dance related articles, videos, and more.

DanceView Times - Reviews of dance performances.

Victoria and Albert Museum: Theatre and Performance - Collection of material about live performance in the UK covering drama, dance, musical theater, and rock and pop.

Welcome

This is a guide to recommended library and online resources related to dance.

Use OneSearch to search all CSN Library Services dance resources, including books, articles, and videos.


OneSearch: Dance

For more information, check out:

CSN Library Services - Access to all of the library's resources.

Start Your Research - CSN's guide to researching any topic.

If you need help, ask a CSN librarian.

Find Articles

The databases listed below provide a wealth of articles from magazines and academic journals.

Tips on using databases:

  • Limit to full-text to get whole articles instead of a summaries.
  • Limit to peer-reviewed to find scholarly research articles only.

ProQuest: The Arts - Covers dance within an interdisciplinary collection of academic journals.

JSTOR - Includes historical and recent dance and other performing arts related academic journals.

Newsstand - Coverage of dance and other performing arts by New York Times, Los Angeles Times and others.

Find Online Videos & Images

For additional CSN online videos and DVDs, search in the CSN Library Catalog.

Dance in Video - Nearly 600 hours of streaming dance productions and documentaries.

Films on Demand: Music and Dance - Over 200 streaming videos related to music and dance.

Great Performances - Multimedia presentations of dance and other performing arts from the long-running PBS series.

Britannica Image Quest - A collection of millions of images on virtually any subject.

Dance Programs

CSN Program

Dance Program

NSHE Programs

UNLV Department of Dance - Undergraduate program

UNR Department of Theatre & Dance - Undergraduate minor only