Criminal Justice Background Info
Search GVRL Criminal Justice:
Search dozens of criminal justice and legal reference books in the Gale Virtual Reference Library for in-depth background information on your topic.
Search Credo Reference:
Search specialized encyclopedias and reference books for brief summaries and background information on your topic.
Law.com - Searchable website offering brief legal definitions.
Criminal Justice News
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Newsfeed
This guide includes some of the best resources of professional criminal justice information available to you.
If you have questions or need assistance, please don't hesitate to contact or visit CSN Library Services.
We're here to help you succeed, so let us know if you have suggestions for additional information you'd like to see here.
CSN Quick Links
Ask a Librarian - Need help locating quality information for an assignment? Contact a librarian for assistance.
CSN Library Locations & Hours - Information for CSN's three campus libraries.
Start Your Research - A great step by step guide to completing a research assignment.
CSN Department of Public Safety & Human Services - Information about CSN's Criminal Justice Program.
Browse these online reference books or search within them for your topic
21st Century Criminology - Overviews of 100 key topics concerning criminal and juvenile justice.
Battleground: Criminal Justice - Examines criminal justice controversies throughout American history.
Childhood Sexual Abuse - Facts, statistics, problems, controversies and solutions to childhood sexual abuse.
Crime and Criminal Behavior - Covers topics such as antisocial personality disorders, internet crime, prescription drug abuse and more.
Crime and Punishment Around the World - Explores crime and punishment throughout the world.
Crime and Punishment in the United States - Examines core aspects of criminal justice.
Crime, Prisons & Jails - Social and moral issues surrounding crime, prisons and jails. Includes statistics.
Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice - In-depth historical, theoretical and current information providing a balanced view of criminal justice topics.
Encyclopedia of Forensic Science - Explanations of terms and concepts relating to the collection and analysis of physical evidence in criminal cases.
Encyclopedia of Gangs - Gang theories plus details on types of gangs and their practices.
Encyclopedia of Juvenile Violence - Relevant theories, historical information, measures and issues of juvenile violence.
Encyclopedia of Law and Society - Interdisciplinary perspectives on law from sociology, criminology, cultural anthropology, political science, social psychology and economics.
Gale Encyclopedia of American Law - Covers major statutes, cases, legal terms, important documents and notable people involved with the law.
Policing in America: A Reference Handbook - Covers development of modern policing, theory, practice, problems, controversies & solutions.
Sentencing: A Reference Handbook - Overview of federal and state sentencing procedures